The New Star Wars Canon

Since April 25, 2014, it’s been a brand-new galaxy.

Now, I can’t say I was deeply ensconced in the old Expanded Universe, which was declared “non-canon” about a year and a half after Disney acquired Lucasfilm. I’d read all the original Marvel comics, the 10 books that had been released prior to 1990 (the three movie novelizations, Splinter of the Mind’s Eye, Brian Daley’s Han Solo Trilogy, and L. Neil Smith’s Lando trilogy), and maybe the first dozen or so of the new wave that began with Timothy Zahn’s Thrawn trilogy.

Once it got past there, it became too much to keep up with. Which was crushing, because the secret I never told anyone was, I wanted to be the walking Holocron. I wanted to know the whole canon story, and there was just getting to be too much of it. Wookieepedia, the next best thing to the Holy-Grail-secret-database that Leland Chee kept at Lucasfilm, was still a twinkle in its creators’ eyes.

Now, with a rebooted canon and my own website, I can hold so much more of overarching story in my head (or have it available at a click or three in a way that it isn’t on the very detail-oriented and outlandishly incredible Wookieepedia).

Although … here’s what Pablo Hidalgo of Lucasfilm says about “canon”:

When you ask ‘is it canon?’ The answer means ‘do other storytellers need to take it into account?’ That’s all the answer means.

Which is, of course, different from what we as fans think “canon” is, on first blush. But when you really think about it, it’s actually the same thing. Does a moviemaking storyteller, for example, have to take into account some crazy thing that happened in LEGO Star Wars: The Yoda Chronicles? I think not. (In fact, we did a whole episode on “LEGO Canon.”)

Though the Lucasfilm Story Group says the review process for them is the same regardless of the age of the audience, I’m drawing a line in the sand and suggesting that all that *really* matters is anything written for middle school and up. As far as I can tell, that’s the age range in which we actually learn new and substantial things about characters, groups, and events in the Star Wars galaxy.

Thus, the following list, which will be updated as new works are released.

Episode I – The Phantom Menace

Obi-Wan and Anakin (comic book series)

Episode II – Attack of the Clones

The Clone Wars (movie and TV series)

Here, according to Leland Chee – @HolocronKeeper and part of the fabled Lucasfilm Story Group – is the chronological story order of The Clone Wars episodes (the first digit represents the season, and the remaining digits represent the episode number, in the order they aired – “T” = theatrical release, I believe, and “S4” = all of Season 4):

216 116 T 301 303 101-115 117-121 201-203 217-219 204-214 220-222 305-307 302 304 308 122 309-311 215 312-322 S4 502-513 501 514-520 601-613

Kindred Spirits (short story)

Dark Disciple (novel)

Episode III – Revenge of the Sith

Kanan (comic series – the Order-66-era portion)

Orientation (short story)

Lords of the Sith (novel)

Tarkin (novel)

Ahsoka (novel, forthcoming)

Mercy Mission (short story)

Bottleneck (short story)

Untitled Han Solo 2018 Movie

The End of History (short story, approximate date)

A New Dawn (novel)

Rebels Season 1 (TV series)

Rebel Bluff (short story)

Rebels Season 2 (TV series)

Catalyst (upcoming novel)

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Episode IV – A New Hope

One Thousand Levels Down (short story)

Last Call at the Zero Angle (short story)

Princess Leia (comic book limited series)

Chewbacca (comic book limited series)

Heir to the Jedi (novel)

Star Wars (comic book series)

Darth Vader (comic book series)

Weapon of a Jedi (novel)

Smuggler’s Run (novel)

Lando (comic book limited series)

Battlefront: Twilight Company (novel – 1st half)

Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back

Battlefront: Twilight Company (novel – 2nd half)

Moving Target (novel)

Episode VI – Return of the Jedi

“Blade Squadron” Parts 1&2 (short story, takes place during ROTJ)

The Levers of Power (short story)

Shattered Empire (comic book limited series)

Aftermath (novel)

Aftermath: Life Debt (novel)

Aftermath: Empire’s End (novel, forthcoming)

Bloodline (novel)

The Perfect Weapon (ebook original)

C-3PO (comic book one-shot)

Moving Target, Smuggler’s Run, Weapon of a Jedi (prologues and epilogues)

Before the Awakening (short stories)

Episode VII – The Force Awakens

Episode VIII – Title TBA

Episode IX – Title TBA

Currently unclassified:
Kanan (comic book limited series)
Tales From a Galaxy Far, Far Away Volume I: Aliens
Short stories from Star Wars Insider, beginning with issue #151
Lost Stars (novel, spans pre-IV to post-VI time period)
Vader Down (comics)
Poe Dameron (comics)
Han Solo (comics)

Forces of Destiny, Season 1 (16 episodes):
Sands of Jakku (1) and BB-8 Bandits (2)
Ewok Escape (3) and The Padawan Path (4)
Beasts of Echo Base (5) and The Imposter Inside (6)
The Stranger (7) and Bounty of Trouble (8)
Newest Recruit (9), Tracker Trouble (10), Teach You, I Will (11), The Starfighter Stunt (12)
Accidental Allies (13), The Happabore Hazard (15), Crash Course (16)
An Imperial Feast (14)